Reviews - Ca’ Mocenigo - Red House Company

Reset Password

  • 0039 041 3091289     info@venietiam.com
  •               
click to enable zoom
Loading Maps
We didn't find any results
open map
Advanced Search
Your search results

Reviews – Ca’ Mocenigo

26 March 2017 by cms@elan42.com
Great location, accommodations
We were in Venice for 4 nights and couldn't be happier with the apartment. We were greeted by staff at the water bus stop at San Samuele and the apartment is a very short walk from there. The place is spacious, except for the compact kitchen, but we didn't need it for much more than making coffee and for the refrigerator. There are several good restaurants within a very short walk. We enjoyed the building cat, who hung out in the lobby and followed us to our door quite often. We had an issue with the power going out when we overloaded the circuit, but the staff was there within minutes to fix the issue when we couldn't get the circuit to reset. Overall we had a great experience and would definitely book this apartment again!
Ca' Mocenigo Anonymous Jun 21, 2017
Faboulous apartment right on the Grand Canal
This is a very large apartment right on the Grand Canal. We would eat cheese and sip wine while we watched the boats go by. Central location to everything. Clean and well furnished. Sophie met us at the St. Angelo stop and took us to the apartment. Everything was easy and comfortable. I would stay at this place again in a heartbeat.
Ca' Mocenigo Judith A. May 27, 2017
The perfect location and apartment for a few days in Venice
This is the first time that we have stayed at an apartment rather than a hotel in Venice and we weren't disappointed. The location is magnificent and I kept having to pinch myself that we could actually stay on the grand canal itself - and with such a spectacular view. It was hard to tear ourselves away from the window. The apartment is nicely furnished, with everything there for a few days' stay. The only thing that would make it better still would be an oven in the kitchen and some milk in the fridge for our first cup of coffee. Thank you Marco at Red House for the beautiful stay!
Ca' Mocenigo Joanne M. Dec 7, 2016
Live in Venice as a native
This apartment fronts on the Grand Canal. Watching the city come to life each morning was very enjoyable. Bruno met us at a Vaparetto stop and took us to the apartment. We thought we would never find our way around! It turns out it was vey easy to navigate. The apartment is @a 10 minute walk to St. Mark's. The neighborhood offers everything you could possibly want. The last 3 days we had water coming into the main hallway outside our front door. It never entered our apartment. It gave us a sense of what many locals go through during high tides! we would gladly come back to this apartment!
Ca' Mocenigo thomas l. Nov 21, 2016
A good Quality/Price Ratio
This apartment provides a great Venician experience: well located (near San Samuele Plaza, which appeared as very safe to us) right on the Grand Canal (ground floor). As other reviews mentioned, it is quite sizeable. We did not have problems with the hot water. This apartment would deserve 5* if the the cooking plate and the furniture were upgraded. The service provided by the owner (Red House ) was outstanding; the best experience we ever had.
Ca' Mocenigo Pierre L. Oct 24, 2016
Great location
Close to the popular/tourist spots in Venice but located in a quiet area of San Marco. Enjoy sunset on the Grand Canal on your own private jetty with bellinis, cheeses, etc purchased from the nearby supermarket. Plenty of good restaurants nearby or take a 3 min walk to one of two ferry stops and head elsewhere for a meal. The kitchen is small and furniture dated but comfortable. Great for a couple.
Ca' Mocenigo Sarah-Jane M. Oct 14, 2016
The best thing of Venice may have been our choice of the apartment
The apartment is literally right on the Canal Grande 40 cm above the water. Beautiful furnished in an Italian - antiques kind a way. Clean. A friendly man (Bruno) to explain the apartment and the island (on a map) We had to get accustomed to the strong coffee maker (and for the none Italians it would have been nice if their would have been just a regular one), the washing machine was't working very well but .... other then that: as everywhere in the world it's all about Location, Location, Location And the apartment is in a perfect spot. Far enough away from the crowds (we went in august) and yet close by water taxi's, tragetto's, gondola's and just walking. The charm of the island is: you can walk everywhere...and so we did. We stayed 4 nights, which we found a bit long ... but we didn't go out to Murano or the Lido All in all a very romantic travel one has to do at least once in a lifetime. We definitely would recommend this property to other people going to Venice.
Ca' Mocenigo Lucas S. Sep 2, 2016
Perfect location. Clean, tidy and quite sizeable.
Great welcome and information on arrival including some fantastic local advice on restaurants and supermarkets. Couldn't ask for a better vista of the hustle and bustle of the Grand Canal.
Ca' Mocenigo Allison G. 31-Jul-2016
Wow!
Location superb, wonderfully spacious, management on time and helpful. Hot water a bit of a challenge in the shower now and then, or it would be 5 stars. Fun to be on the Grand Canal... Drama and comedy --enchanting ! Our final days in Italy-- after 2 weeks-- were a great memory that my grandson and I will treasure . Thanks!
Ca' Mocenigo Cindy B. 23-Jul-2016
Right on the Grand Canal!
The photos can't really capture the exhilarating feel of this apartment. There is a grand entry with a view of an interior garden, a long passageway with black/white stone floor and high beamed ceiling, a large wooden door, and then stepping in there is the Grand Canal in full view visible through two large windows that extend up from the floor. Walking up to the windows, your toes are about three meters from the water. The apartment has a regal feel. The walls are white washed, high beamed ceilings, an antique stone pillar, many antique furniture pieces, oriental carpets, and some Italian flair in the orange color chosen for the comfortable modern upholstered furniture in the living room and bedspread for the king-sized bed (also very comfortable) in the bedroom. The apartment is spacious (about 1,000 square feet) and feels larger because of the high ceiling and the extended view of the canal. Double paned windows are a great invention, so it is quiet. You feel a part of the Venetian water life, almost as if you are on a luxury boat amid gondolas, sleek taxis, but also vaporetti and small barges, some of which unlaod cargos of crates of fruits and vegetable, etc. right by the apartment. A curtain can be pulled across that still lets in light but blocks the view from outside or the windows opened to let in the sounds of the Grand Canal activity. For us, we even had a lady opera singer standing up in a gondola giving a serenade. The ambiance is very good. Heat just fine, small air conditioner units near the ceiling (looked new) similar to the ones we have in Hawaii, and a large de-humidifier which worked unobtrusively similar to the ones in Cape Cod to handle the same type of conditions near water. KItchen was small but refrigerator, gas burners, coffee maker, and enough cooking utensils/ knives served our needs, and there is a Bolognese-style deli an easy stroll away. Stroll a little further and you are in Campo San Stefano with the best gelateria in Venice (Paoline). Outside the apartment you have a neighborhood feel with Venetians walking their dogs and with their children or older parents out for a walk, greeting each other--really close to the major attractions but off the tourist thoroughfares. Yes, you may encounter a drawback or two; e.g., the water pressure for the shower. But the real drawback is that you will blubber like a baby when you have to leave. Bruno was very welcoming and available as needed to help. Gracie Mille!
Ca' Mocenigo Cathy & Alex 09-Jun-2016
Beautiful views in an historic building
My husband and I spent five nights in this apartment. It is conveniently located a few minutes from the St. Angelo vaporetto stop. The view from the living room windows of the Grand Canal is fabulous. A very comfortable apartment. We highly recommenf it.
Ca' Mocenigo Pat H. 05-May-2016
Great place.
The property is very well located,quiet and very spacious . All necessary needs in kitchen. Red House management was very professional and accommodating.
Ca' Mocenigo Robert P. 04-May-2016
Amazing location, quiet, clean, and away from the hoards of tourists, yet with easy vaporetto access.
Delightful location where you can watch all of Venice go by your window Easy walking to the Opera, Academia Bridge, Rialto, and St. Marks
Ca' Mocenigo Don L. 30-Apr-2016
Great location for a week in Venice!
Very convenient to San Marco square, Rialto, Fenice, and other sights, by foot or vaporetto. Picturesque neighborhood, with shops that offer basic grocery items. Good restaurants in nearby Campo San Stefano. Grand Canal right outside the two apartment windows! Quiet, although the small dock and adjacent alley is used by boatsmen making deliveries to local shops. Large living room/eating area, with wood-timbered ceiling. Tiny functional kitchen. Modern bath, but with limited hot water. Comfortable interior bedroom without window. Very friendly staff. Bruno met us upon arrival at the vaporetto stop, walked us to the apartment, and briefed us on getting around the city. A very nice spot for independent travelers seeking to be off the beaten path, in a place with some history (Lord Byron slept here!) amidst those who live and work in Venice.
Ca' Mocenigo Anonymous 19-Oct-2015
THE PERFECT VENICE EXPERIENCE
This apartment was perfect in every way for us. The floor to ceiling windows in the living room right on the Grand Canal made us feel like we were a part of the everyday scene in Venice. The apartment was clean and well placed. The bedroom was in the back and very quiet for sleeping with a spacious closet for our clothes. The kitchen was small but sweet and perfect for an light morning breakfast. To step outside the apartment to the palace lobby was wonderful and then onto a typical venice alley way and into the world of venice. The location fantastic and was centrally located and close to the water taxis. Bruno our host, was kind and gracious and even gave us his umbrella to take with us when we left in the rain. I would highly recommend this rental.
Ca' Mocenigo TravelMonkey1111 New York City, New York sept 2015
Beautiful apartment in a stunning location
we stayed at the property for 4 nights. It was very clean and warm(heating available). The apartment is very nicely furnished and comfortable. The 2 large windows opening onto the Grand Canal give a stunning view. The kitchen is small but more than adequate for us to make breakfast. Rialto Bridge and St Marks etc are all within walking distance. We would love to return to this property again.
Ca' Mocenigo David E. 19-Jun-2015
Perfect position amongst the action
A wonderful stay and great service and attention from Bruno. We loved this loved this apartment for it's location and rustic ambiance. Especially have drinks on the jetty outside and watching true venice go by.
Ca' Mocenigo Noel L.14-Oct-2014
Great location on Grand Canal
Beautifully situated apartment with amazing water level views of Grand Canal. Comfortable accommodation and a very quiet bedroom and air conditioned. Close to Vaporetto stops and bars in a stylish part of Venice. Our second stay in this apartment.
Ca' Mocenigo Bairstow London Aug 2013
Beautiful apartment right on the Grand Canal
The apartment is tucked away from the crowds but within walking distance to everything. Beautiful, historical looking building and decor, right on the Canal. Very comfortable. The Red House people were great, helpful and efficient. The kitchen is tiny-- think galley kitchen on a ship-- but we weren't there to cook. Perfect for two.
Ca' Mocenigo New York Mar 2013
Being on the Grand Canal was great
Beautiful apartment In a Palazzo right on the Grand Canal. Away from the crowds but in easy reach of everything.
Ca' Mocenigo Lancashire Oct 2012
Being on the Grand Canal was great
Beautiful apartment In a Palazzo right on the Grand Canal. Away from the crowds but in easy reach of everything.
Ca' Mocenigo Lancashire Oct 2012
Great apartment, wonderful location
As other reviewers have said, a very nice apartment, in a terrific location. Open the windows to hear the bustle on the Grand Canal; close them and - with very effective sound proofing - you can barely hear the boats go by. Has A/C (nice to decrease the humidity). Close to a vaparetto stop (San Samuele) that you can reach without going over any bridges. Note, this stop is NOT shown in Rick Steves Venice 2012; and it's the only one of the Grand Canal that vaparetto line 1 doesn't stop at (use line 2). Apartment is an easy walk to San Marco, Accademia, & so on. Fast wifi is available. Bruno (who welcomed us to the apartment) was cordial & extremely helpful, even allowing us to ``store`` our cases in the apartment the day we were leaving Venice, so we could spend the day in the city, then collect the bags before our evening departure. Very kind indeed (you don't want to be dragging cases around Venice all day). One thing that I'd point out is for any visitors who are confined to a wheelchair. The apartment is described as ``wheelchair accessible``. There are 3 quite high steps into the apartment, and there is no way that someone confined to a wheelchair could negotiate these steps without assistance. So if you can climb a few steps, or have an assistant to help, you may be alright. But don't expect to be able to enter the apartment in a wheelchair, unassisted.
Ca' Mocenigo ScotProf San Diego, CA Sep 2012
Nice 8 days in Venice
-the flat was clean, calm and we had all what we need. -central in Venice it's a good startingpoint for all activities. Near by foot and to Vaporetto-Station. -Very good and interesting the view in the first line on the actions on canal le grande. -Mr Malafante sen. was very friendly and helpful -w'll come back and booking by Red House company!!
Ca' Mocenigo Germany Aug 2012
Great Apartment Right on the Grand Canal
My wife and I really enjoyed this apartment right on the Grand Canal. We liked watching the boats and gondolas go by right outside the front windows. The soundproofing was great, though, as we couldn't hear a thing once the windows were closed. The apartment was beautiful and the air-conditioning worked well to keep the place cool during the unexpected late-June heat wave in Venice. Marco was very helpful in checking us in, picking us up from the vapporetto stop and taking us to the apartment, showing us everything we needed to know, and he even gave us tips on restaurants to eat at (the one right down the street was excellent) and how to get to the beach at Lido. He was even gracious enough to arrange our water taxi pickup to take us to the airport at the end of our stay. The location was perfect, right near a vapporetto stop and within walking distance of numerous attractions, including St. Mark's. The kitchen was small and didn't seem very practical for making a meal of any significant size, but we weren't there to cook so it didn't bother us. The shower was functional, although the shower curtain isn't big enough to cover the entire length of the tub. Overall, even though this was one of the pricier apartments we saw listed in Venice, it was the perfect romantic spot for our honeymoon and we would highly recommend it.
Ca' Mocenigo David E. 04-Jul-2012
Great accommodation - Fabulous location.
A wonderful stay, apartment as lovely as we saw on website.We felt very privileged to be staying in a Palazzo steeped in history with superb views of everyday life on the Grand Canal.The apartment was spacious,clean & cosy.The kitchen is small but great for breakfast & light meals.Location perfect,easy access to vaporetto if needed.Shops & cafes nearby of good quality.St. Marks Square & Rialto within easy walking distance. Cannot fault the welcome & service provided throughout by Marco & Caroline.Would definitely use this company again.
Ca' Mocenigo UK Jun 2012
Good value for your money
This property is confortable and the location is great. The appartment is large, though the kitchen and bathroom are small and would benefit from some improvements. Also, the couch in the living room needs sheets and a softer mattress. All in all, the appartment s a very good alternative for a small family looking for more space than a typical hotel room, in a very central Venice location. The price is also quite reasonable and the owner is very helpful.
Ca' Mocenigo Dana D. 25-Jun-2012
Fabulous week in authentic Palazzo
A wonderful stay. Apartment as lovely as we saw on website. We felt very privileged to be staying in a Palazzo steeped in history with superb views of everyday life on the Grand Canal. The apartment was lovely,spacious,clean and cosy. The kitchen is small but great for breakfast and light meals. Location absolutely perfect, easy access to vaperetto if needed. Shops and cafes nearby of good quality - especially bakeries. Everything you need is on your doorstep - St Marks Square and Rialto within easy walking distance. Cannot fault the welcome and service provided throughout by Marco and Caroline. Will definitely be using this company again.
Ca' Mocenigo david h. 23-Jun-2012
Canal Grande outside your window
A very well appointed apartment with Venice at your window. Gondolas pass by and the vaporetto and you really experience life in Venice. The kitchen is very small and not suitable really for cooking meals but there is a washing machine and a dishwasher for cleaning your glasses and cups, plates etc. Situated between 2 vaporetto stops so the sights of Venice are easily accessible.
Ca' Mocenigo Australia May 2012
Delightful stay on the Grande Canal--in grand style and comfort.
We could not have beenmore pleased with our stay at Ca Mocenigo. Marco and Carolina were professional, thorough, and welcoming. The apt was of a dream--watching the everyday life on the canal, enjoying an adequate kitchen to make coffee and breakfast, and more had we been inclined. The location is ideal--safe and easy walk to local amenities, and tourist sites. The traghetto, and vaporetto locations made for easy commuting. The internet was improved by opening the window--which with a moderate temperature was not a hardship. Furnishings, bath, bedroom and comfort were beyond expectation. The ability to arrive at the private dock via water taxi--a little pricey, but so worth the outlay--we felt like royalty. The switches in the kitchen were a bit ponderous, but within managing with some study. The music provided, was a great addition. Antiques and lovely rugs were gracious, and made for a feeling of luxury. Even Wellingtons for high tides were available in the closet--although not required during our stay. We found a favorite grocery, and bakery within a day or two. Given our winter dates-we were pleased to have cozy sweaters and scarves, and found the fog rather romantic--no heat, no bugs. Yes, we would gladly suggest this location to family or friends.
Ca' Mocenigo New Mexico, CA Dec 2011
séjour inoubliable
malgré notre arrivée tardive, nous avons été accueillis de manière très professionnelles, beaucoup de renseignements fournis confort du lit et des fauteuils ok aménagement vraiment vénitien bibliothèque très fournies sur Venise. quartier calme ou on se sent tout de suite chez soi Venise en novembre permet de visiter à l'aise en dehors de la cohue. Red house Compagny mérite la confiance
Ca' Mocenigo belgique Nov 2011
Me and my wife had a great time at this location. The staff was very helpful in meeting us at the drop off for the water taxi and taking us to the apartment. They then showed us around the area for good reasturants and sites to see. The apartment is on the ground floor with a great view of the grand canal. you can open the large windows and see everything from the living room. The shower and tub has good water pressure there is a washing maching, microwave, wifi, tv in bed room, stove and they provide towels and a cleaning service before you arrive. The location is central to all the sites so walking is not a problem. if you choose they can call a private water taxi to pick you up and drop you off at your location which has a private dock. this will cost you 110 euro each way but worth it if you have a lot of luggage if you do public transit you will have to carry your bags up a few stairs which is not a problem unless you have a lot of bags. we felt very safe in the area and would recommend it to a small family. Has one bed and once can sleep on the couch if necessary. I think it was a pull out couch but not positive.
Ca' Mocenigo USA Oct 2011
Great location on the heart of Venice, 2 mins from the water bus and close to a travestiere crossing (50c on an old Gondola). Apartment is comfortable with a nice little kitchen, sofa bed (not very comfy) and very nice main bedroom. It's down a quiet alley but within minutes you are in the main part of Venice. The best thing by far though is the view. Open the 2 windows and you are looking onto the grand canal with every type of boat imaginable passing by. We have young kids so mornings, nap times and evenings were a pleasure with a glass of wine and the view. Stores are close so you can have a great dinner at home and save money for a gondola ride. Red house staff really helpful and got us a great babysitter also. iPhone Tips- download ``Venice 2 go`` app. Make sure you download a local copy, you can switch off data and have a local map which shows exactly where you are. The wireless code for the house works all along the grand canal.
Ca' Mocenigo San Francisco jun 2011
Great location, loads of space
This is a big spacious apartment (although kitchen is small but serviceable) in a great spot on the Grand Canal. My wife and I spent almost two weeks there and had a great time, at times just watching the gondolas go passed our windows. There are two vaporetto stops nearby and San Marco and Rialto Bridge are within easy distance. Hard to imagine a better spot - close to everything but out of the way and fantastic views.
Ca' Mocenigo Waynos 03-May-2011
This is a great apartment for a short or long-term stay in Venice. Big living room, large separate bedroom with walk in robe, good bathroom. Kitchen is small, but serviceable. Can sit and watch teh gondolas float by as you eat. Close to everything, including two vaporetto stops. A perfect place to stay.
Ca' Mocenigo Melbourne April 2011
Perfect location, great apartment
We've been to Venice three times, but this was our best trip and in many ways thanks to this apartment. It's in great spot, has a big living area with views across the Grand Canal and a big separate bedroom with a very comfortable bed (often not the case in rental apartments). Bathroom is good and while the kitchen is certainly compact, it does the job and includes the washing and a dishwasher. Hard to imagine a much better option for two or even four people.
Ca' Mocenigo Waynos 13-Apr-2011
Perfect spot on the Grand Canal
As the name says, this apartment is right on the Grand Canal in the San Marco district and in the heart of the best of Venice. It’s a comfortable walk to Piazza San Marco and the Rialto Bridge and only a few minutes walk to either the San Samuele or Sant’Angelo vaporetto stops. It’s also virtually next door to the Palazzo Grassi and not much further to Gallerie Accademia, so it ticks many of the boxes when it comes to position. It also ticks a lot of boxes when it comes to accommodation. As far as one-bedroom apartments go, this big – except for the kitchen. The windows in the living and dining look directly out on the Grand Canal at almost water level. You can spend quite a few hours just sitting around reading, eating and watching the traffic go by – it’s like being on a main road, but far more interesting and somehow relaxing. The magnificent voice of some of the gondoliers as they go by is a particular highlight. As mentioned, the kitchen is very compact, but works – and with so many restaurants nearby for breakfast, lunch or dinner you’re not likely to use it a lot. The apartment – both heated and air conditioned – is fitted out with antique furniture in keeping with the atmosphere of Venice. In all, a great apartment and perfect spot to spend a couple of weeks or more exploring one of the world’s great and unique cities.
Ca' Mocenigo Waynos22 Geelong, Australia Apr 2011
Lovely apartment in a great location
Two of us spent three nights here for a birthday break. We found the apartment comfortable, spacious, clean and well equipped. But throw open the windows, and you're part of life on Venice's principal waterway. The location is great, easy walking to San Marco's sights, or across the Grand Canal by either the Ponte Accademia or Rialto. Locally there are some good corner shops and a bakery, and a square with several restaurants. We had a gret meal here one evening. The Red house people who manage the property are friendly and very helpful, giving us some good tips on places to go. We hope to spend another holiday here. PS We've been dining out on telling people we stayed in the Venetian palazzo where Byron lived!
Ca' Mocenigo John B. 07-Apr-2011
Palazzo Mocenigo is a perfect love nest on the Grand Canal where memories can be made that will last a life time. The setting makes you feel like you are in the ancient Venice of Fairytales, whereas the apartment itself is as comfortable as any modern day flat in any European city. It is very comfortable and accommodating. The kitchen is rather small and not ideal for major cooking, however certainly adequate and well equipped. The neighborhood is charming and the location is convenient to all the main sites of Venice. The view from the windows of the movement on the Grand Canal is priceless! We had a fabulous time and will gladly return.
Ca' Mocenigo Florida Feb 2011
Living the Canal Grande
We had such a great time in Venice and we loved the view of this apartment. It is really stylish and central
Ca' Mocenigo Franck and Melanie, Boston 10-Dec-2010
Lovely location, clean and well equipped. We shall come back!
Ca' Mocenigo Robert and Julie 10-Dec-2010
``Quiet, spacious and comfort on the grand canal``
Our family of 4 (2 adults 2 teens)enjoyed a 3 night stay in this spacious,comfortable and convenient apartment right on the Grand canal. The sights and sounds of Venice were there to enjoy right outside the huge windows,yet double glazing kept the apartment beautifully quiet. Palazzo Mocenigo is located within a neighbourhood of galleries, small restaurants and local cafes in all in a labyrinth of alleys. This provided a great base for exploring Venice. Our host Marco met us at the Vaporretto stop and took us to the delightful, restored, apartment building , thoroughly informing us of all we needed to know.I will happily book through Red House next visit.
Ca' Mocenigo Debra Howse 11-Dec-2010
We found the apartment to be just perfect for our short stay in Venice. We had absolutely no problems with check-in as Marco met us at the Vaparetto and took us to the apartment. He is absolutely wonderful and very helpful with restaurant suggestions etc. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the unit also had a washing machine which was not listed on the site. We would definitely rent this apartment again and have already recommended it to friends.
Ca' Mocenigo Oregon USA Sep. 2010
Our family of 4 (2 adults 2 teens)enjoyed a 3 night stay in this spacious,comfortable and convenient apartment right on the Grand canal. The sights and sounds of Venice were there to enjoy right outside the huge windows,yet double glazing kept the apartment beautifully quiet. Palazzo Mocenigo is located within a neighbourhood of galleries, small restaurants and local cafes in all in a labyrinth of alleys. This provided a great base for exploring Venice. Our host Marco met us at the Vaporretto stop and took us to the delightful, restored, apartment building , thoroughly informing us of all we needed to know.I will happily book through Red House next visit.
Ca' Mocenigo Canberra Sep 2010